Govt approves 19 SCIs and 20 TCCCs new cancer hospitals


In order to enhance the facilities for tertiary care of cancer care in the country, the Central Government has planned of setting up 19 State Cancer Institutes (SCIs) and 20 Tertiary Care Cancer Centres (TCCCs) which have been approved, The Minister of State Health and Family Welfare, Ashwini Kumar Choubey informed in the Lok Sabha.

“The objective behind setting up of these new cancer hospitals is to enhance the facilities for tertiary care of cancer,” Choubey said.

Also read: UP: BJP Government to set up cardiac, cancer care units at 174 district hospitals

Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) in its meeting held on February 28, 2019, had approved the continuation of the Scheme till the year 2020 only with 35 SCIs/TCCCs and setting up of four more identified SCIs including these institutions. In addition, following Cancer Centres under the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India are operational across the country:

1. Maharashtra

(i) Tata Memorial Hospital (TMH), Parel, Mumbai
(ii) Advance centre for treatment and Research in Cancer (ACTREC), Kharghar, Navi Mumbai

2. Andhra Pradesh

(i) Homi Bhabha Cancer Hospital & Research Centre (HBCH&RC), Visakhapatnam

3. Uttar Pradesh

(i) Homi Bhabha Cancer Hospital (HBCH) , Varanasi
(ii) Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (MPMMCC), Varanasi

4. Punjab

(i) Homi Bhabha Cancer Hospital (HBCH), Sangrur

5. Assam

(i) Dr Bhubaneswar Borooah Cancer Institute, Guwahati

Further, Oncology is also one of the focus areas in case of new AIIMS and many upgraded institutions under Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY).

Setting up of National Cancer Institute at Jhajjar in Haryana and strengthening of Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute, Kolkata, are also steps in the same direction


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video