Govt okays 26 new medical colleges in six states and union territories

medical colleges

The Central has given nod to establish 26 medical colleges in different parts of the country. These colleges would be attached with existing district or referral hospitals.

The information about setting up medical colleges was shared recently by Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Minister of State (Health and Family Welfare) in the Lok Sabha while replying to a question on how many colleges been allocated in phase-three under Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS), a report said.

A group of parliamentarians requested the Minister to furnish state-wise details about colleges.
Colleges would be constructed in six states and union territories which include Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Uttar Pradesh.

In August, the Cabinet had approved phase-three of the scheme to establish a total of 75 medical colleges across the country. The State and Union Territories have been asked to send proposals along with detailed project report.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video