Health Policy

The first Indian edition of the internationally acclaimed BMJ awards

BMJ, one of the worlds leading healthcare knowledge providers, will be hosting the inaugural edition of the BMJ awards in India. The awards will be held on 20 September 2014 in New Delhi to give recognition to the best individuals and teams that demonstrated exemplary commitment to the practice of medicine. The 2014 awards will showcase knowledge, expertise and practices that have helped transform the healthcare ecosystem in India.


The idea behind the launch of these Awards in India is to provide a platform to showcase the exceptional work done by doctors in India, across the breadth of the Indian healthcare landscape”right from the metros to the rural towns of the country. Dubbed the medical Oscars, the event has become a key date in the medical calendar in the UK.

Mr. Anand Ekambaram, Managing Director, BMJ India said, The BMJ aims to improve health and make a real difference to clinical practice worldwide. We are delighted to launch the inaugural edition of the BMJ awards in India. It will honour courage, determination, vision, and insight in medicine by felicitating individuals, organisations and initiatives that demonstrated an outstanding and measureable contribution across the healthcare community. BMJ awards will not only provide a platform to enhance the existing relationship with the healthcare community but will also offer an opportunity to meet key influencers in the country.

BMJ Awards has been long-established in UK since 2009 and has even attracted winning entries directly from India in recent years. In 2011, there were two winners from India in the categories of Innovation in Healthcare and Medical Team in a Crisis Zone.


Dr Anita Jain, Editor, BMJ India, said, We look forward to create a platform to help doctors present their outstanding contributions in medicine through the BMJ Awards. Our ambition is to provide doctors an opportunity to highlight some of their best initiatives and to inspire, motivate and support the contributions of Indian healthcare professionals.

The BMJ Awards nomination process would start in June and culminate on the 20th of September in New Delhi, where shortlisted individuals and teams will be awarded amongst a prestigious audience of leading figures from the world of Indian medicine and health. The winners and shortlisted teams will receive extensive coverage and recognition in the Indian media.

Award categories span across various healthcare segments such as preventive health, innovation in healthcare technology, research paper of the year, excellence in medical education, quality improvement in healthcare, primary healthcare in challenging circumstances, healthcare campaigning/advocacy, surgical team of the year, medical team of the year and junior doctor of the year.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Follow us on

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
Subscribe Newsletter
To Top