NMC: AIIMS’ Prof Suresh Chandra Sharma appointed its first chief

Suresh Chandra Sharma

Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma, the chief of Delhi AIIMS’ ENT head-neck surgery department, has been appointed the chairman of National Medical Commission.


Sharma, the first chief of the commission, which is all set to replace Medical Commission of India, has been appointed for a period of three years or till the age of 70 years.

As per an order by Personnel Ministry, appointment of Sharma has been approved by Appointments Committee of the Cabinet.

Along with Sharma, Rakesh Kumar Vats, the secretary general in the board of governors of the Medical Council of India (MCI), has also been appointed as the secretary of the Commission for the similar term.


President Ram Nath Kovind had on August 8 given assent to the National Medical Commission (NMC) Act, 2019, which provides for a system that improves access to quality and affordable medical education and ensures the availability of adequate and high quality medical professionals in all parts of the country, among others.

The new law provides for setting up of an NMC in place of the Medical Council of India for development and regulation of all aspects of medical education, profession and institutions.
At least 72 applications for NMC were received by the central government.

On the dissolution of the MCI, the person appointed as its chairman and others appointed as the member, any officer and other employee of the Council shall immediately vacate their respective offices, according to the provision of the NMC Act.

The Commission can have a chairperson, 10 ex-officio members and 22 part-time members, according to the law.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Follow us on

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
Subscribe Newsletter
To Top