The new Board of Governors for the Medical Council of India (MCI) has appointed Cardiologist Dr. K.K. Talwar as the Chairman. Talwar was a former director of Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research; Chandigarh replaced Dr S K Sarin as the head of the board. The Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare nominated four doctors as members of the board. They are Prof K S Sharma, Prof Harbhajan Singh Rassam, Dr Rajiv Chintaman Yeravdekar and Dr Purushotham Lal. The governing body is supposed to be a five member body and the names of other members are still being finalized as mentioned by ministry officials. The notification included a single entrance examination was to be introduced that would be conducted for MBBS and MD courses offered by all 271 medical colleges in the country, of which 138 are operated by the government and 133 are under private management. The government had recently brought out a gazette notification extending the tenure of MCI Board from one year since supersession of MCI to two years. The MCI, a statutory body, tasked to oversee the standards of medical education in India, grants recognition to medical degrees, gives accreditation to medical colleges and monitors medical practice in the country.

Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.

Related Corporate Updates