September 2010


“…I believe that apart from showcasing and presenting ICT for development projects and initiating discussions around them, it is equally important to recognise the successful endeavours in this field. eINDIA Awards would encourage others to follow in the footsteps of their visionary counterparts.”

Ms Agatha Sangma, Minister of State for Rural Development, Government of India at the inauguration of eINDIA2010 Awards ceremony


The eINDIA Awards is the premier accolade to innovative endeavors made in assimilating technology in developmental concerns. The initiative aims at identifying and felicitating unique and innovative initiatives in the ICT for development space, as also the projects that can be easily replicated in a sustainable manner.

While eINDIA Awards had a formal two-tier Jury process, it also had a parallel online mechanism for the Citizen’s Choice Award in all 26 sub-categories under eGovernance, Education, Healthcare, Agriculture, Municipal IT and Telecentre. The online voting process allowed citizens to vote and recognise projects that have impacted their lives the most. As part of the formal uation process a panel of 25 distinguished international Jury members had to first assess the nominations on certain pre-defined criterion, with each project being uated by a minimum of three Jury members. The average weighted score was then used to select the Top 5 from each category. The list was then used by the In Person Jury, which met in Delhi on July 22, 2010 to decide on the winners in each of the segment.

The award jury:


Ashish Sanyal
Sr Director, DIT, Government of India

Shakila T Shamsu
 Joint Adviser, Planning Commission

Rajen Varada
Resource Person, UN Solution Exchange

Dr Ashok Kumar
DDG & Director, CBHI, Government of India

Dr Basheer Ahmad Shadrach
 utive Director, Foundation

Dr V Balaji
Global Leader, ICRISAT

Dr Gopi N. Ghosh
Assistant Representative & Resource Person, FAO

Dr. B S Bedi
Adviser-Health Informatics, C-DAC

Dr Ananya Raihan
Secretary General, B’desh Telecentre Network

Michael Riggs
FAO, Italy

Hardik Bhatt
CIO, City of Chicago

Dr R Sreedher
Director, CEMCA

Anir Chowdhury
Policy Advisor to PMO, UNDP, Bangladesh

Dr S S Jena
Chairman, NIOS

Sri B S Raghupathy
Joint Director, DET, Bangalore

Brig (Dr) R S Grewal
Vice Chancellor, Chitkara University

Sourav Banerjee
Senior Education Specialist,USAID

Prof Arun Nigavekar
Former Chairman, UGC

Prof Vasudha Kamat
Joint Director, CIET, NCERT

P Vigneswara Ilavarasan
Assistant Professor, IIT-Delhi

Rufina Fernandes
Chief utive, NASSCOM Foundation

Michael Gurstein
Sr Journalist, The Journal of Community Informatics Centre for Community Informatics Research, Canada

Lekha Kumar
Commissioner, Income Tax, Government of India

Dr R Siva Kumar
CEO, NSDI & Head-NRDMS, Government of India

Dr Akhilesh Gupta
Adviser, DST, Government of India

Sunil Kapoor
Zonal Director, Fortis Healthcare Limited

Ndaula Sulah
ED, Ugabytes, Uganda

eINDIA2010 Leadership Award

Lt Gen (Retd) Bhopinder Singh, Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Lt Gen Bhopinder Singh was accorded the prestigious eINDIA2010 Leadership Award for bringing ICT to remote and difficult terrains like Andaman and Nicobar Islands and connecting distant communities through effective use of IT. While sharing his views, he said that the Andaman and Nicobar Islands require IT in  myriad ways. There are several challenges which have to be addressed in these areas, and for that eGovernance is of crucial importance. “eINDIA has been a great learning experience in terms of getting exposure into the field of IT, and I will take back this learning for furthering the ICT cause in Andaman and Nicobar Islands”, he added.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Follow us on

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
Subscribe Newsletter
To Top