Padma Bhushan awarded to Covid-19 vaccine makers

padma awards winner

The Padma awards this year highlighted the commendable work done by a number of health experts and practitioners amidst the pandemic. Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The prestigious Padma Bhushan, country’s third highest civilian award, has been conferred upon the two leading Covid-19 vaccine manufacturers. Cyrus S Poonawalla, Chairman and Managing Director, Serum Institute of India (SII) that manufactured Covishield and Krishna Ella, Chairman, Bharat Biotech and Suchitra Ella, co-founder, Bharat Biotech that produced Covaxin have been announced as the recipients of the Padma awards 2022 for their contribution in the field of Trade and Industry. Krishna Ella and Suchitra Ella have been jointly conferred with the Padma Bhushan.

10 doctors have also been conferred with Padma Shri in the field of medicine. These include Dr Himmatrao Bawaskar (Maharashtra) who is well-known for his work on scorpion and snake bite poisoning; Dr Prokar Dasgupta (United Kingdom); Dr Lata Desai (Gujarat) who has dedicated her entire life towards holistic, integrated well-being of tribal communities in Gujarat in the field of health, women empowerment, education and poverty alleviation since 1980; Dr Vijaykumar Vinayak Dongre (Maharashtra) who has been working in the field of leprosy treatment; Dr Narendra Prasad Misra (Posthumous) (Madhya Pradesh); Dr Kamlakar Tripathi (Uttar Pradesh); Dr Sunkara Venkata Adinarayana Rao (Andhra Pradesh) an orthopedic surgeon who is known for his work for poor people; Dr Veeraswamy Seshiah (Tamil Nadu); Dr Bhimsen Singhal (Maharashtra) and Dr Balaji Tambe (Posthumous) (Maharashtra).

The recipient list comprises four Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padm a Shri awardees.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video