Ayushman Bharat: 8 states, 4 UTs sign MoUs with Health Ministry

Views: 776

Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhand are among eight states which have signed MOUs with the Union Health Ministry to implement the Modi government’s ambitious Ayushman Bharat-National Health Protection Mission.

Four UTs have also signed the Memorandum of understanding (MoUs), an official said on Saturday.

The national health protection mission promises an annual cover of Rs 5 lakh per family. The programme which is expected to be implemented from August 15 would benefit around 10 crore families belonging to the vulnerable section of the society.

The Health Ministry official said four states, Delhi, Odisha, Punjab and West Bengal have yet not taken decision to move forward on this front and discussions with these states are on.

Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Tamil Nadu will sign the agreement soon, the official further informed.

Through the MoUs, the States and UTs formally committed to implement the health programme, which has been touted the world’s largest government funded health care programme. The MoUs were signed to discuss contour of the programme including the role of both Central and State Governments.


Most Popular

To Top