Five MBBS students from Karnataka win prestigious scholarships

Five MBBS students of Karnataka have been selected for the Dr PS Shankar Medical Student Scholarship and were felicitated during the 18th anniversary celebrations of the pratishthan in Kalaburagi recently.

According to a press note, a physically challenged girl Soundarya Pon Moliyan was the cynosure of all eyes during the function. She did not let a 75 per cent disability come in the way of her academic pursuits. She scored 86.60 per cent in the SSLC examination and 76.66 per cent in PU examinations and got a medical seat in the Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences.

Nagaveni Vishnukumar Jinde and Shivashankar Reddy A Doddakamanna, students of Gulbarga Institute of Medical Sciences, Sagar Bhairappa Maali of Karnataka Institute of Medical Sciences, Hubballi, and Sharanabasappa N Beeda of Mysore Medical College and Research Institute were also felicitated on the occasion.

All the five students studied in Kannada medium up to SSLC. The selected students would receive scholarship of Rs 1,000 each for 54 months till they complete their medical course.

Medical Director of Dr NR Acharya Memorial Hospital, Udupi, N Bhaskar Acharya received the Dr PS Shankar Shreshta Vaidya Sahitya Prashasti Award for the year. AH Rajasab, former Vice-Chancellor of the Tumkur University was the chief guest at the ceremony.


Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video