Directorate of Radiation Safety to be set-up in Andhra Pradesh

Radiation Safety

Radiation Safety

The Department of Health, Medical & Family Welfare (HM & FW), Andhra Pradesh has signed a Memorandum of Understanding  with the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) for setting up the Directorate of Radiation Safety (DFS) to regulate functioning of x-ray installations in the state.


AERB has mandate to ensure that the use of ionizing radiation and nuclear energy in India does not cause risk to health and the environment.

According to MoU, AERB will support and train the Directorate staff and will undertake regulatory inspections and verify compliance of the various x-ray installations in the state.

The Directorate will be set-up at AMTZ in Visakhapatnam. This will benefit the manufacturers of radiological equipment towards certifications for their products. The safety in hospitals is set to get a boost with this initiative.


The recognition plaque was handed over by Dr. Avinash U. Sonawane, Head, Directorate of Regulatory Affairs & Communications, AERB to Dr. Jitendar Kumar Sharma, MD & CEO, AMTZ and Dr. (Smt.) Poonam Malakondaiah, IAS, Principal Secretary, Department of Health, Medical & Family Welfare, Government of Andhra Pradesh in the august presence of Honble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Sri N. Chandra Babu Naidu.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Follow us on

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
Subscribe Newsletter
To Top