Februaury 2009

India hounours its doctors on the occasion of Republic Day – eHEALTH Bureau

The President of India, Shmt Pratibha Patil conferred nineteen Padma Awards in the field of Medicine for the year 2009. These awards were announced on the eve of Republic Day. eHEALTH wishes to congratulate these awardees.


Padma Vibhushan
Prof. Jasbir Singh Bajaj, Punjab
Dr. Purshotam Lal, Uttar Pradesh

Padma Vibhushan
Prof. Jasbir Singh Bajaj, Punjab
Dr. Purshotam Lal, Uttar Pradesh

Padma Shri
Dr. A.K. Gupta, Maharashtra
Dr. Alampur SaibabaGoud, Andhra Pradesh
Dr. Arvind Lal, Delhi
Dr. Ashok K. Vaid. Delhi
Dr. Ashok Kumar Grover, Delhi
Dr. Balswarup Choubey, Maharashtra
Dr. D. S. Rana, Himachal Pradesh
Dr. Govindan Vijayaraghavan, Kerala
Dr. Kalyan Banerjee, Delhi
Shri P.R. Krishna Kumar, Tamil Nadu
Dr. R. Sivaraaman, Tamil Nadu
Dr. Shaik KhaderNoordeen, Tamil Nadu
Prof. (Dr.) ThanikachalamSadagopan, Tamil Nadu
Dr. Yash Gulati, Delhi


About the Awards

According to the procedure, an ‘Awards Committee’ makes the final recommendations on awardees after receiving ‘recommendations’ from various sources like state governments / UTs, central ministries and departments and institutions of excellence, and the names have to be finally cleared by the President’s office.

Padma Vibhushan: is India’s second highest civilian honour. The Bharat Ratna, is the highest award that can be conferred by the President of India. Padma Vibhushan is awarded to recognize exceptional and distinguished service to the nation in any field, including government service.

Padma Bhushan: is India’s third highest civilian decoration, awarded by the President of India. It is awarded to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field.

Padma Shri (or) Padma Shree: is an award given by the Government of India generally to Indian citizens to recognize their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Social Service and public life. It stands fourth in the hierarchy of civilian awards after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Follow us on

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
Subscribe Newsletter
To Top